Thor logo

Cloud County Community College

Concordia  •  Geary County  •  Online  •  Outreach

Single Sign-on login button


History of the College


The college was established as the Concordia Junior College in 1965 as part of the Concordia Public Schools. Classes first met on Feb. 8, 1965, using the Concordia school’s facilities.


On July 1, 1965, the Concordia Junior College became a member of the state system of community colleges under the name Cloud County Community Junior College. Classes began in the current location in the fall of 1968. The college is now known as Cloud County Community College.


The Concordia campus is made up of four buildings, grouped together on three levels, and connected by a central library. Additionally, Tech West houses the Nursing Department and the Child Care Center. There are 15 campus apartment buildings, as well as Thunder Heights, a 78-person, three-story building that offers private and semi-private rooms.


Situated on the hill south of campus, the Cloud Power Wind Farm was finished and commissioned in April 2010. The wind farm has two Northwind 100 wind turbines. Combined, and at peak performance, the turbines can generate 350 kilowatts of electricity. The wind farm also provides an on-site laboratory for students enrolled in the Wind Energy Technology program.


Shortly after the turbines were commissioned, the college began a major overhaul of the HVAC system in the main building, which included a switch from gas-fired boilers to a geothermal system. The geothermal well field consists of 99 wells, drilled to 400 feet deep. The system is completely powered by the wind farm on an average day, which offsets the college’s electricity and natural gas costs. When combined, the college will save 1,656 barrels of oil per year, or enough electricity to power 60 homes.


In Junction City, the Grandview Plaza attendance center was opened in 1994 to better meet the needs of the population of the southeastern portion of Cloud’s service area. In January 1998, the college opened the present Geary County site. The campus is composed of four buildings and offers a full range of academic programs and student support services. The Geary County campus is an integral part of Cloud County Community College, and its campus is distinguished by its own architecture and campus plan.